About Us

Officers and Trustees (2016)

President Tom DeForeest
Vice President Wayne Dorr
Treasurer Elizabeth Steen
Secretary Lara Ashouwak
Social Secretary Mary Bussey
Trustee Leslie Anderson
Trustee Frank Connors
Trustee Brendan Bullock
Trustee Todd Woofenden
Trustee Debbie Lipscomb

Committe Chairs

Finance Committee Elizabeth Steen
Membership/Volunteer Committee Debbie Lipscomb
Development Committee  
Program Committee  
Collection Committee Elizabeth Steen

Founding and History of the Society

The Bowdoinham Historical Society was established in 1970, with a meeting of two dozen residents seeking “to collect and preserve records and physical objects relating to the history of Bowdoinham.”

Officers elected in April, 1970 were: Frank Connors, president; Linwood Rideout, vice president; Leslie Anderson, secretary; and Fred Temple, treasurer.

Early projects included plans to restore the Town Hall building, a project to list and map local cemeteries, plans for preservation of the Meeting House, and a series of local presentations on Bowdoinham’s history.

In the intervening years, the society has held dinners, continued its series of presentations on local history, and worked on dozens of history-related local projects.

Holdings of the society include two properties, the Meeting House and the Jellerson School (the last of the local one-room schoolhouses), a large collection of photographs, and many other collections including books, handcrafts, newspaper clippings, and more.

The society is grateful to the many people who have donated historical items and collections, and for the many members and volunteers who have engaged with us over the years in helping to preserve and present the history of Bowdoinham.


Topsham Historical Society